Media Freedom

4 journalists receive sentences of up to 9 years in prison

'Justice is determined in the presidential palace'


An Adana court has handed down prison sentences varying from seven years, six months to nine years to four journalists on charges of membership in the Gülen movement, accused by the Turkish government of masterminding a failed coup attempt in July 2016, the Hürriyet daily reported.

During the fourth hearing of the trial at the Adana 4th High Criminal Court, journalists Mustafa Naim Yalçınel, Aytekin Gezici and Yüksel Evsen were sentenced to nine years each, while Abdullah Özyurt received a sentence of seven years, six months.

Adana-based journalists Gezici and Özyurt were arrested on July 25, 2016 as part of an investigation into the Gülen movement. (Turkey Purge)


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button